The Region

The Lugana zone, in the hinterland of the lake

The Lugana zone, in the hinterland of the lake

The Lugana area stretches between the southern shore of Lake Garda and the spectacular Morainic Hills, created by the long, slow erosion of glaciers in the late Ice Age. It is made up of five picturesque and historic communes in the hinterland of the lake: Desenzano del Garda, Sirmione, Pozzolengo and Lonato in the Province of Brescia, and Peschiera del Garda in the Province of Verona. The moderate rainfall and the limestone soil with its stratifications of clay (which are its distinctive feature) make this the ideal zone for producing Lugana, which from its terroir of origin derives not only its name but also the scents of the surrounding countryside, the mildness of the climate, the gentleness of the lake and the ruggedness of the hills that frame the landscape.


The terroir of Lugana

The vast stretch of plain that lies to the south of Lake Garda and borders with the Morainic Hills boasts a calcareous soil, intermittently stratified with compact deposits of clay.


Here the climate is always mild and gently ventilated, rainfall is never particularly heavy and the differences between day - and night - time temperatures are not very marked.

The Valtènesi, an area of excellence

The Valtènesi, an area of excellence

Along the Brescia shore of Lake Garda, between Desenzano and Salò, lies the Valtènesi zone. This is a region lapped by the lake, which gives it all of its unique and particular characteristics: long hot summers, short mild winters, light rains and delicate breezes that caress the luxuriant vineyards.


Here, thanks to this fortunate microclimate, the indigenous Groppello grape variety grows and thrives, along with venerable and mighty olive and citrus trees. Apart from wine, therefore, lots of other top-quality products – like the olive oil from Lake Garda – make this zone that benefits from the positive effects of the lake really special and famous around the world.


The production zones

The Valtènesi D.O.C. wine production zone includes the communes of Salò, Roè Volciano, Villanuova sul Clisi, Gavardo, San Felice del Benaco, Puegnago del Garda, Muscoline, Manerba del Garda, Polpenazze del Garda, Moniga del Garda, Soiano del Lago, Calvagese della Riviera, Padenghe sul Garda and Bedizzole. It also includes part of the municipalities of Lonato del Garda and Desenzano del Garda.

Discover the world of CàMaiol

Santa Margherita Gruppo Vinicolo